Dark Pages Double Indemnity giant issue

This guy you were looking for was too close. Right across the desk from ya. Actually, right up there. No wonder he’s about to get tangled in his crutches and fall off the train getting your attention, because it’s the annual giant Dark Pages issue on one of the greatest Noirs ever made.  This year we bring you some usual suspects, with front page ponderings by Tales of the Easily Distracted doyenne Dorian, Musings on Miklos by Laura of Miscellaneous Fame, and DP creator Karen brings you loads on the lead actors, DI quotes, the source story/material, critics’ reactions, and much more.

I wrote about some of the behind the scenes people that made DI look the way it did, through makeup, hair, sets, props, and more.

Other contributors cover Double Indemnity from almost every angle, with nice pieces about the remake, locations then & now, trivia, scenes left on the cutting room floor, great stuff on Chandler and Wilder, original artwork, and more.

Click here to learn more about subscribing and don’t you dare ask me if you wonder if you know what I mean,  because I wonder if you wonder.

UPDATE! many thanks to IMMORTAL EPHEMERA for the kind inclusion of Dark Pages mag in the HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE!! DP does make a great gift.

UPDATE #2! Laura gives the  issue a very nice write up at her blog.

5 thoughts on “Dark Pages Double Indemnity giant issue

  1. SQUEEEE! Kristina, I’d be all a-twitter (and a-Facebook, too :-)) about the upcoming DOUBLE INDEMNITY edition of THE DARK PAGES even if my DI piece wasn’t in it, but sharing the spotlight with our fellow fab femme fatale Laura, she of the marvelous Miscellaneous Musings, has me looking forward to the jumbo DI issue all the more! Now that I have a subscription to DP, I’ll keep my eye on my mailbox even more eagerly! Thanks for producing a terrific mag like THE DARK PAGES, keep those awesome issues coming, and thanks for letting me play in your film noir garden!

    Like

  2. By the way, that’s fantastic Robby from Dear Old Hollywood contributed, as well as the delightfully droll Dorian! (I like that alliteration…) Assume Robby’s article is on the locations…wonderful!

    Best wishes,
    Laura

    Like

  3. i hope you will all be as half as pleased/thrilled/impressed with the issue as I am!!!
    it’s a dooooozy!!!😀 all hail Karen

    Like

COMMENTS:

