Announcing the Great Villain Blogathon!

Villain_Perkins

welcome to the event activities …bookmark this page, we’ll be updating and featuring links every night, and check twitter #TheGreatVillainBlogathon for info 

Apr 20 roundup of the day’s posts

Apr 21 roundup 

Apr 22 roundup 

Apr 23 roundup

Apr 24 roundup  

Apr 25 roundup

Apr 26 roundup

the event wrap up & news about next year      

or scroll down for a list of links (a lot less fun since the above roundup posts are fully illustrated)

here’s the original announcement:

“The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.” So said one of the greatest movie villains ever, but many classic films have convinced us quite thoroughly that evil does indeed exist, and usually in the form of a compelling, riveting, powerful character, a villain brought to life by superb writing and acting, then seared into the memory of movie fans.

once1

And so we announce that you are cordially invited to participate in the Great Villain Blogathon, a celebration, an examination, a rumination on your choice of classic movie menace, whether monster or family member. Whether human, fantastical, alien, mineral or animal, whether on horseback or spaceship, clad in toga, trenchcoat or cardigan, whether mantrap, mild mannered or commanding vast armies, write up a post on your favorite movie baddie, doer of dastardly deeds or offender of moral order.

zodkneel

Your co-hosts in this exploration of villainy are

Ruth of Silver Screenings  925screenings [at] gmail.com

Karen of Shadows & Satin  thedarkpages [at] yahoo.com

Kristina of Speakeasy  mail [dot] speakeasy [at] yahoo.com

If you wish to take part, please leave a comment below or send an email with your pick and your blog url, then help yourself to one of the banners below to paste up on your blog and prepare to share who you think is filmdom’s worst. No duplicates please; there are plenty of villains to go around.

This event will unfold over the week of APRIL 20 – 26, 2014

here’s some text to paste into your post

This post is part of the Great Villain Blogathon hosted by Ruth of Silver Screenings, Karen of Shadows & Satin, and Kristina of Speakeasy  — see all the movie baddies at any of these three blogs

apr 20

Mocata in The Devil Rides Out at I Love Terrible Movies

Warner Oland and Christopher Lee as Dr. Fu Manchu by Viking Samurai

Laird Cregar in Hangover Square at Virtual Virago

Ming the Merciless in the Flash Gordon movies at The Secret Sanctum of Captain Video

Waldo Lydecker in Laura at Moon in Gemini

Peter Lorre in The Man Who Knew Too Much at Critica Retro

Lon Chaney in The Penalty at Movies, Silently

Otto Kruger in Saboteur at The Man on the Flying Trapeze

Dan Duryea in Scarlet Street at Shadows and Satin

Hannibal Lecter in Silence of the Lambs at Part Time Monster

Porter Hall in The Thin Man at Stardust

apr 21

“Ming is Dead! Long Live Ming! Oh, Wait…He’s Back” at Captain Video

Girls Do Film gets wicked with The Wizard of Oz: Margaret Hamilton as the Wicked Witch of the West

Film Grimoire covers Death in The Seventh Seal

Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty is in the spotlight at Lasso the Movies

Classic Movie Man writes on Uncle Charlie aka Joseph Cotten in “Shadow of a Doubt”

Claytonology presents a Rasputin Two-fer : Rasputin and the Empress (1932) & Nicholas and Alexandra (1971)

Imagine MDD gives you an interview with Mrs Danvers from Rebecca, plus some background on the novel & Hitchcock film

Faded Video Labels looks at Hank Quinlan in Touch Of Evil (1958)

OCD Viewer gives you The Lord Humungus in Mad Max 2

and here at Speakeasy, I give you Henry Fonda’s baby blues in Once Upon a Time in the West

apr 22

The Joy and Agony of Movies: The Godfather, Part 2 and Chinatown

The Thrilling Days of Yesteryear: Henry Brandon in Babes in Toyland (1934) and Our Gang Follies of 1938 (1937)

Carole & Co.: C. Aubrey Smith in No More Orchids

1001 Movies I (Apparently) Must See Before I Die: David Carradine in Kill Bill

The Cinematic Packrat: The Child Catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

Caftan Woman: Gale Sondergaard in The Spider Woman

HardBoiled Girl: Richard Widmark in Kiss of Death

Deja Reviewer: Ridiculously Lopsided Hero-Villain Fights

Journeys in Classic Film: Terrence Stamp in The Collector

Captain Video: Ming the Merciless is back!

apr 23

Mike’s Take on the Movies tells of Eli Wallach, who Before Tuco Was Calvera in The Magnificent 7

Unrequited Love is Possessed by the evil of The Exorcist

Twenty Four Frames makes us all watch; Peeping Tom – A Look at Mark Lewis

The One Ring and Villain in All of Us

The Last Drive In has Two Two Two Glorias, from Sunset Boulevard & Dracula’s Daughter

The Sadistic Spouse: Charles Boyer in Gaslight, from the blog Cary Grant Won’t Eat You

Michael Gough in Konga is doing evil at the Hitless Wonder Blog

Bela Lugosi is in The Human Monster over at Movie Lottery

and that’s not the only lottery! Mildred’s Fatburgers rounds up Three Strangers fighting over their lottery win 

apr 24

The Last Drive In: James Caan vs. Olivia de Havilland in Lady in a Cage

 Old Movies Nostalgia: Orson Welles as Harry Lime in The Third Man

A Shroud of Thoughts: The Evil of Victor Frankenstein in Hammer Films

Let’s Go to the Movies: The Joker from The Dark Knight

The Vintage Cameo: Bette Davis as creepy Baby Jane Hudson in Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?

Forgotten Films: William Zabka as the ultimate blonde baddie in three popular 80′s films

Margaret Perry: Five Disney Villainess Role Models

Classic Movie Gab: Dark Willie Stark in All The King’s Men

Silver Screenings: Angela Lansbury as Mother of the Year in The Manchurian Candidate

apr 25

Speakeasy: Terence Stamp as General Zod in Superman II

A Small Press Life: Gene Tierney in Leave Her to Heaven

Portraits by Jenni: Conrad Veidt in A Woman’s Face

Movie Classics: Laurence Olivier in Richard III

Destroy All Fanboys!: Ann Savage in Detour

The Rosebud Cinema: Vivien Leigh as Scarlett O’Hara – Hero or Villain?

Pre-Code.Com: Boris Karloff in The Mummy

Movie Fanfare: ALL the Baddies of Batman (1966)

Film Flare: Cary Grant, the would-be villain of Suspicion

apr 26

Robert Montgomery in Night Must Fall at Nitrate Diva

Anthony Perkins in Psycho at Tales of the Easily Distracted

Professor Fate in The Great Race at Silver Scenes

Robert Ryan in Billy Budd at Motion Picture Gems

Raymond Burr in Rear Window at Two Heads are Better Than One

Al Pacino in Devil’s Advocate at Frisco Kid at the Movies

Butch and The Woim in the Our Gang Comedies at Forgotten Films

Olga Baclanova in Freaks at The Midnight Palace

Kathy Bates in Misery, Barbara Stanwyck in Double Indemnity, and Christoph Waltz in Inglorious Basterds at Film Nerd Blog

Danny Huston in The Proposition at Ramblings of a Cinephile

Ming the Merciless in the Flash Gordon movies, part 3 at Secret Sanctum of Captain Video

Alain Delon in Purple Noon at Random Pictures

Barbara Stanwyck in Double Indemnity at Backlots

Clark Gable in Night Nurse at Shadows and Satin

Mr Potter in It’s a Wonderful Life at Once Upon a Screen

Sherlock’s foe: Moriartys at Spoilers

Orson Welles in the Stranger at Outspoken & Freckled

a banner contributed by Two heads are better than one Villain_VanCleefVillain_StanwyckVillain_PerkinsVillain_LugosiVillain_Hamilton

98 thoughts on “Announcing the Great Villain Blogathon!”

  1. Hi Kristina. Ive decided to join in. My pick for villain is John Ryder (Rutger Hauer) in THE HITCHER. Any day you pick for me is cool. Cheers!

  2. OK! I’m in with a Mitchum duel! Max Cady vs. Harry Powell. I can’t decided to which evilness Mitchum does the most justice so…

    If I can manage it I’ll do another since it’s lasting for a few days. Will return if that’s the case. 🙂

    Thanks,

    Aurora
    Once Upon a Screen (aurorasginjoint.com)
    @CitizenScreen
    Address: 1313 Mockingbird Lane 🙂

      1. OK. Here goes…

        My choice for a second post is Mr. Potter if not already taken. That would be the one from Bedford Falls.

        If possible, can you schedule me for:

        Mr. Potter for April 23 and Cady vs. Powell for April 26.

        Thanks ever so and let me know if any of this doesn’t work.

        Aurora

  3. Oh, I’m definitely in, Kristina…
    But I have about 4 dozen villains off the top of my head; some of ’em are spectacular, but were stuck in subpar films.

    Gonna give this one a bit of thought before I choose.
    I’ll let ya’ know a.s.a.p., though.

    Great idea, whosever it was!!!

      1. I almost feel like I’m slighting some truly spectacular villains by only choosing one, but here goes: –Raymond Burr, in ‘Rear Window’, (1954)–

        Give me a date, and I’ll have it ready well in advance.

        Thanks again for organizing this, Kristina!!

  4. Kristina, I’m all excited about being in the Villain Blogathon with you, Karen, and Ruth — what a combo! I’m already looking forward to tackling Alfred Hitchcock’s PSYCHO on April 26th! BRAVA to all you fabulous gals for whipping up this Blogathon! 😀 As always, thanks for letting me play in your garden!

  5. Hi, Kristina!
    I love villains! THey have always been my favorite. This being said, I want to write about Peter Lorre in The Man who Knew Too Much (1934), OK?
    Kisses!

  6. Since my site, “Carole & Co.”, is dedicated to Carole Lombard, I plan to write about C. Aubrey Smith, who plays a grandfather of Carole’s wealthy character in “No More Orchids” and will stop at nothing in order to have her marry into royalty…even though she’d prefer to marry commoner Lyle Talbot.

    Interesting that the week after your blogathon, I’m co-hosting one with Backlots called “The Romantic Comedy Blogathon,” from May 1 to 4. Those interested can learn more about it (I’ve made some banners, too) by going to http://carole-and-co.livejournal.com/670537.html

  7. Hi Kristina, just sent you a tweet. I’d love to take part in this. My pick, Broderick Crawford in “All the King’s Men.” (1947) Thx!

  8. This blogathon is too fabulous for words… too many fiendish possibilities… I would love to talk about Gloria Swanson as Norma Desmond in Sunset Blvd… Gosh has got me very excited!!!

    1. I agree, thanks for joining up, have been visiting your site for a while and events like this help us all get to know each other which is always fun. Happy to have you

      1. I’d prefer Saturday, the 26th, all things considered.
        But if that’s not possible, just let me know….

        And I finally got the ad for the blog-a-thon embedded at our place: took longer than I thought… 😉 I actually might adjust/re-do it, since our sidebar is really too narrow for a horizontal picture. Either way, I’ll make sure that it links back to this post.

        Thanks again for helping to organize this…!

        1. Ha!! Are you psychic because I just today was joking that nobody picked Vader yet! That is an awesome banner, do you mind if I add it to our list? With credit of course. In fact I a going to rotate to that one on my blog! Oh and the date is fine, I put you down. 🙂

          1. Please do; Darth is too cool not to include!
            😀
            Again, I’d suggest you use the original, unedited one I linked and mock it up to match your others (font, spacing, width, etc.,…). The existing ones weren’t narrow enough for our sidebar, and might look a bit odd next to your others here.

            BTW: if you can get ahold of him, ‘Dapper Dan’ is a HUGE Star Wars fan, as well as a highly talented writer. He’d be a great addition to this, and could do justice to Darth better than I:
            http://principlesnotmen.wordpress.com/

            I’ll drop him a line, as well, and let you know if I get in touch with him a.s.a.p….

            1. yes please do spread the word to anyone you like, the more the merrier! I pasted in your smaller one for now and will try to do the bigger,thanks.

            1. The pleasure was mine: the font on the first one got ‘cloudy’, for some reason.
              Anyway, when my OCD kicks in, I really don’t have much choice but to fix whatever’s bugging me, if-you-know-what-I-mean…

  9. This sounds fun. If you are interested in including me, I’ll be blogging on April 22nd about these villains: Dick Jones and Clarence Boddicker (RoboCop – 1987), Loki (The Avengers), Bob Parr’s boss (The Incredibles), The Grim Reaper (Bill and Ted’s Bogus Journey), The Wet Bandits (Home Alone), Greedo (Star Wars), the bullies (The Karate Kid), the Corleones (The Godfather Part II),and General Zod (Superman II).

    1. Zod and the Karate Kid are already taken, but all the rest (plus if you wanted to substitute a couple others that aren’t on our list) will be really great additions, and thanks so much for joining in! great to have you aboard 🙂

  10. Greetings. Kristina. On behalf of MovieFanFare,, I’d like to join in on the fiendish fun with an article on the villains of the 1966 Batman movie–Frank Gorshin, Burgess Meredith, Lee Meriwether and Cesar Romero–that will run on our site on April 25.

  11. Hi, hi, hi! Oh, this looks so fun. I’d really like to participate and write about Hannibal Lecter. I’m not seeing anyone who has chosen to write about him, but do let me know if I missed that; I’ve a few other ideas.

    If there’s any way I could post on a Sunday, that would be superb, as I’m doing April A-Z challenge with a focus on girls in literature, and I’ve posts for that scheduled Monday-Saturday for April. If not, the Monster can just post twice that day. 😉

      1. I was thinking of Alain Delon in “Purple Noon,” but if John Huston in “Chinatown” hasn’t been taken (I didn’t see him anywhere in the roster), I’d love to do him. And I can definitely post on the 26th.

        1. actually Huston was covered yesterday so if you want to go ahead with Delon that would sure be a fantastic addition, and welcome aboard! great to have a new blog join in

            1. I know what you mean, I’m having a great time making the rounds to check them all out, and now can add you to the list! thanks and looking forward to your post

            2. you can add an image widget above the blogroll and paste the image url and link into the spaces there. hope that helps. and wow! i just had a peek at the gorgeous Delon! 🙂 can’t wait to read, thank you!

  12. I’d like to share some wonderful news. The article I wrote for last week’s blogathon (http://dejareviewer.com/2014/04/22/10-ridiculously-lopsided-hero-villain-fights/) inspired me to write another one focusing on the symmetrical nature of the original RoboCop’s plot (http://dejareviewer.com/2014/04/29/cinematic-chiasmus-robocop-is-almost-perfectly-symmetrical-film/). I published that article yesterday and it went crazy, getting 320,000 views in a single day, which is nearly double what I got all last year.

    I’d call that quite a success story from this blogathon. Thank you so much for organizing it.

    1. that is fabulous and I’m not at all surprised, your blog has been a great find and reading for me, so it must be for any movie buff. Thanks so much for stopping by to let us know that 🙂 best!

  13. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came
    to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information.
    I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Wonderful blog and brilliant design.

    1. Well we are doing another next year 🙂 April, so make a note somewhere and we will be thrilled to see you join in then! And thanks for this link, I’ll be checking it out.

  14. Hola! I’ve been reading your blog for a long time now and finally got the
    bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Tx!
    Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic job!

Comments:

