Discuss: Movie Quotes

Sure there’s “Frankly my dear,” and “Here’s looking at you,” and more like those that everyone knows, but movie buffs have our own special favourite lines we love to repeat at every opportunity. Mine are usually from comedies, some I won’t repeat here (hint, from Dumb and Dumber or Planes, Trains & Automobiles), a great many come from the Marx Brothers– “whatever it is I’m against it,” or the oeuvre of Leslie Nielsen– don’t get me started on Police Squad or Airplane! The Women has gems –“I was afraid you were a wet firecracker, sister!” How about you? Funny or serious, name a line or two you love to use.

20 thoughts on “Discuss: Movie Quotes”

  1. One line I love (and in reference to your previous post) is “I am Heathcliffe!” Sadly, the people in my life do not find it as amusing as I do.

    One line I adore is from “Singin’ in the Rain”, the scene at the film’s premiere, where the sound goes all wacky and the actors’ lines are scrambled on screen. “Yes! Yes! Yes!” “No! No! No!” I could watch that part all day.

    1. haha, that’s a good bit too, there are a few from there, the one I most remember is “she can’t act, she can’t sing, she can’t dance–a triple threat.”

  2. I like to add in half the script from Slap Shot. Growing up playing hockey, every player on the teams knew the lines and would often be saying them around the rinks. “None of that stinking root beer!” and of course way to many of the hardcore variety. “—— ing Machine took my quarter”

    1. That movie has it’s share of funny but hardcore quotes if I remember. But I do remember the rules discussion 🙂 “you go the box, you feel shame, you get free”

  3. Kristina, I’m usually chock full of favorite quotes from my favorite movies, but this is my favorite for both me and my husband Vinnie Bartilucci, as we both love them from David Mamet’s clever 1997 thriller THE SPANISH PRISONER, quoted by Ricky Jay: “Worry is like interest paid in advance on a debt that never comes due.” 🙂 Hope you and yours are having wonder weekend, as you deserve them, my friend! 😀

  4. I quote a lot of Mel Brooks’ movies (so much so my niece, who was about 12 years old at the time, described my dog as “Abbie-normal” when we told her he had been diagnosed with canine epilepsy).

    Also, The Big Lebowski is a treasure trove of great quotes. For some reason, “There’s a beverage here!” cracks me up every time.

    1. re Big Lebowski, if anyone ever asks you advice on buying a rug tell them to get one “that really ties the room together” haha. Oh, Mel Brooks, has so many it’s a post in itself almost, but you know one that stuck with me from History of the World when there were 3 tablets and one fell and shattered: “I present you with the 15!…… 10! 10 Commandments”

  5. My late father in law was active in community theatre productions. He often quoted two lines from the musical, The Music Man. #1 is when bumbling Mayor Shinn scolds Tommy Djilas who is dating his teen daughter Zeneeta: “Ya wild kid, ya!” #2 is when the Mayor scolds his wife Eulalie for saying something he thinks is shocking: “You watch your phraseology!” Lately, our 11 year old likes to quote from Jaws: “You’re gonna need a bigger boat!” 🙂

    1. We applaud your great taste in movie lines, Jennifer! In fact, by coincidence, I happened to be watching JAWS this weekend, and THE MUSIC MAN is another Team Bartilucci favorite! 😀

    2. oh, the bigger boat one I say a lot too, lol. Those are fun ones, and this is what I mean, everyone has their unique go-to quotes and usually they have some greater meaning when they remind you of family or something you watched together, I know I have lots like those.

  6. Shirley MacLaine in The Apartment: “Shut up and deal”

    The Professionals – while looking at an old photo
    Ralph Bellamy: “Your hair was darker.”
    Lee Marvin: “My heart was lighter.”

Comments are closed.