2015 TCM Classic Film Festival

tcmff

The TCM Classic Film Festival starts Thursday and I am beyond excited to say that I’ll be there!

It’ll be my first time not only at the fest but also in California so I’m sure to have my mind blown with all the events, screenings and first time in-person meetings with some good friends.

I won’t be updating the blog for the next few days other than one blogathon post scheduled for the weekend. If you sign up for either the Villain or the Beach Party Blogathon from Thursday on, thanks in advance — the rosters will be updated on March 30.

The blog may be quiet but I won’t be, I plan to tweet some along the way, so follow me @HQofK for updates.

I didn’t have time to do a giant preview post, and frankly I’m changing my mind every five minutes on what I want to see. I’m trying to hit some magical combo of sitting in all the iconic theaters, seeing more new-to-me movies and having unique experiences, not just sticking to my favourites all the way through, and whoever programmed this did pack it with my faves (I might have to apologize to my dear friends Patton, Gunga Din, The Man Who Would be King, Nightmare Alley, Raiders of the Lost Ark and On Her Majesty’s Secret Service).

I know I will be at The Sound of Music opening night, and my game plan includes My Darling Clementine with Keith Carradine and Peter Fonda present, The Proud Rebel which I’ve never seen, introduced by Alan Ladd’s son David, possibly Steamboat Bill, Jr. restored and with a live orchestra. I might go to Apollo 13 with Captain James Lovell present, or Rebecca, which will ensure I’ve seen at least one movie at The Egyptian. I’d love to see the world premiere restoration of the musical 42nd Street or So Dear to my Heart, a Disney mix of live action and animation. How about Air Mail, a John Ford movie I’ve never seen? Or Hollywood Home Movies which is just what it sounds like, a collection of star footage presented by the Academy Film Archive?

There are book signings, presentations on Technicolor, hand cranked early film, character actors and title design, there are interviews, events and discussions featuring Sophia Loren, Ann-Margret, Shirley MacLaine, Norman Lloyd, William Friedkin, and many more, and poolside movies like Grease, The Party and Earthquake. With all this going on I wonder how people don’t go Psycho (which is also playing). You can’t go wrong with any of it, and detours and surprises are part of the fun. When I get back I’ll share lots of details and photos, maybe even video! Can’t wait 🙂

proudrebel

steamboat

gif source

airmail

calamclem

gif source

15 thoughts on “2015 TCM Classic Film Festival”

  1. So jealous! I’ve looked at the lineup and some of those screening decisions would be excruciating. I would want to see A Man for all Seasons, but would have to miss Rififi. Brutal.

    Have fun!

    1. Thanks, Excruciating is right! That Rififi block is an especially tough one as I also love Raiders but whatever you choose bumps other choice goodies because of timing. It’s a battlefield operation trying to plot this out. But life should be full of such fun choices, right? Hope you make it next year.

  2. Kristina, so excited that you’re going and we’ll finally get to meet in person. I haven’t decided what movies to see, but I think you’ll enjoy “Proud Rebel.” I haven’t seen it in decades. I don’t think it’s been on TCM.

    1. Yes can’t wait to meet you too, really looking forward to that part of it as much as the movies! Proud Rebel was probably my easiest choice of all of these, I’m sure I’ll enjoy that one, and have a fun weekend packed with great movies 🙂 see you there!

  3. So excited to see CLEMENTINE and THE PROUD REBEL with you! And take you to In-N-Out Burger! LOL.

    Till we meet in CA —
    Laura

    1. Very much looking forward to everything!! I see in-N-Out is open late so maybe I’ll have to go back a few times after the shows to be thorough with the menu 🙂 See you soon!

  4. Welcome to California from a veteran Angeleno. (Compared to you, that is; I began my apartment search last April, during that TCMFF, and have been here permanently since late July.) You’re going to have a splendid time, and I’m looking forward to meeting you. (I’ll be the guy wearing either a Washington Nationals or University of Maryland cap, handing out Carole & Co. business cards.) Just be careful — Los Angeles is a seductive lady. Believe it or not, this was the first song I heard on the radio here on my initial visit in 1989, and now I believe in the myth: https://youtu.be/FwF1QjXotTo

    1. That’s great! I’ll certainly try to find you and say hello, it’ll be fun to meet all you bloggers and fellow movie buffs (that I feel like I already know!) it’ll be a great time!

Comments are closed.