March 2015 Film Diary

In-Bruges-05-1

March diary, better late than never, with thoughts on each movie viewed in March 2015 and links leading you to my review posts.

The Jokers (1967)

Blue Ruin (2013). Much hyped neo-noir which was indeed gripping and fascinating but ultimately too nihilistic and a downer for my taste. Macon Blair does fantastic work in his role as the devastated young man of very few words, who lives homeless, friendless and aimless until he hears his purpose in life, his opportunity for vengeance has arrived– the man who murdered his parents and ruined his life is being let out of prison. Blair very quickly cleans up, tracks down the man he’s after, and knifes him in a gas station restroom. He then goes back home and tells his sister what he’s done. But the violence and pain has only just begun. Blair has to live with the consequences, and now his victim’s family is coming after him. The killing predictably snowballs in the back and forth involving several family members, self-defense, preemption and an insatiable desire for vengeance on all sides. As one character says, it’s no longer right, just ugly. Blue Ruin is a very good movie, it’s smart, good looking, well acted, well made, and makes powerful points, but it just didn’t grab me emotionally. I wasn’t put off at all by the extremely graphic violence because that serves the realism and effectively conveys the message that killing is nowhere as easy to carry out or get over, as it looks in other movies. It was the unrelenting bleakness and hopelessness of it that was so sad and off putting. You get to like this decent but devastated man whose life is ruined, and then watch his life destroyed completely when he seeks justice his way. Evil wins.  Blue-Ruin-Dwight Blue-Ruin-2

Paranoiac (1963)

Please Murder Me (1956)

Scarlet Dawn (1932)

Grand Exit (1935)

The Looters (1955)looters6

Erased (2012). Meh, another twist on Taken’s “spy father with distant or endangered daughter” dynamic, this time with Aaron Eckhardt. There’s a conspiracy to, guess what: “erase” him, and there’s Olga Kurylenko as an agent with flexible loyalties.

In Bruges (2008). Rewatch. I’m a big Colin Farrell fan and I think this is his best role. He’s one of two hitmen, Brendan Gleeson being the other, who are sent by their boss Ralph Fiennes to go hide out in Bruges, Belgium, after Farrell accidentally kills a child in a hit gone wrong. Gleeson intends to make the best of the stay and delights in taking in the medieval sights, museums and culture. Farrell is like a bored kid who has zero interest in old buildings and whose idea of excitement is a good bar and a date with the girl he meets at a film shoot. As they wait for details on their next hit, we learn that Gleeson is a wise and kind older mentor figure while Farrell’s rude and flip exterior covers that he’s tortured by his mistake and sees no point in living. When Fiennes’ instructions finally come, the intended hit surprises everybody. The job can’t be done and the defiance brings an angry Fiennes to Bruges, which leads to a funny, chaotic chase through this beautiful setting on a winter’s night, and unpredictable, terribly sad yet somehow inevitable endings given what we’ve learned of Farrell and Gleeson.  tumblr_nduaxtOMCQ1rob81ao1_250 gif source

The White Tower (1950)

Tracks (2013). “Searching for/finding yourself” stories and movies are not my thing. Daily life gives you plenty of chances to find out who you are while you can make a difference in others’ lives, and “wherever you go, there you are.” Nice looking movie, Mia Wasikowska has impressed me every time I’ve seen her lately (The Double, Only Lovers Left Alive, Stoker) and she’s good here too, embarking on an impossible trek across the Australian Outback, mainly because she needs to keep moving in order to be happy. She takes some camels and her only friend in the world, her dog (bad decision, get your hankies ready), and she’s tracked by photog Adam Driver who documents her voyage. That’s all there is to it, but a lot happens as she crosses that forbidding landscape, those vast stretches of lonely and potentially deadly nothingness.

Words and Pictures (2013). Clive Owen is a washed up alcoholic teacher at a private school, on track to get booted for boozing and not living up to his promise as a great poet. He’s an easygoing, genial and fun and admired by his students, but not by his son, who’s ashamed of him (and he doesn’t even know Daddy plagiarized his work). Juliette Binoche is an acclaimed artist afflicted with rheumatoid arthritis who joins the school as the new aloof, tough-love art instructor. The two teachers’ prickly introduction becomes full-blown rivalry when Owen asserts that writing beats art and she tries to prove the opposite. Their war lights a fire under their students, might help Owen keep his job, and fuels a blossoming romance between these two difficult and stubborn personalities. Not bad, but very thin and not half as good as I was expecting given these leads. Some memorable moments, like Owen surprising one of his most devoted students when he confronts him for bullying, or Binoche’s explosive laughter when she sees the X-rated cartoons a teen drew of her.words

(13 thru 26 were seen at TCM classic film fest) The Sound of Music (1965)

My Darling Clementine (1946)

clem

The Proud Rebel (1958)

Pinocchio (1940)

Steamboat Bill, Jr. (1928)

Rebecca (1940)

Why Be Good? (1929)

whybegood

So Dear to my Heart (1948)

Air Mail (1932)

Christmas in July (1940)

Imitation of Life (1959)

Calamity Jane (1953)

Reign of Terror (aka The Black Book) (1949)

The Philadelphia Story (1940)

The Old Dark House (1932)  oldd2

She Done Him Wrong (1933)

previous months via this tag

12 thoughts on “March 2015 Film Diary”

  1. I had almost the same take to Blue Ruin. Disappointing after hearing some of the raves.

    You still have my envy on 13 – 25. 🙂

    1. Yeah no denying it was good, but I couldn’t like it, too much of a downer for my taste. As for 13-25 I still can’t believe I was there and that I watched 5 movies in a day! Thanks for reading.

  2. I might be more of a cynic, but I love Blue Ruin. All of your points are certainly valid, but those things worked for me.

    1. Sure, like I say it’s a very good movie and Blair was great, I just feel like I rooted for him and didn’t want him to end up like he did.

    1. Thanks, love to talk a bit about everything I see, hopefully people get ideas on more things to watch (even if I didn’t like it, doesn’t matter) 🙂 cheers!

  3. I too have seen In Bruges multiple times. Farrell surprised me here. I didn’t expect much from him, and re-evaluated his talents afterward. Have you seen the director’s follow-up, Seven Psychopaths? It’s not as good, but has the same strange, dark humor.

    1. No I haven’t and that has Chris Walken in it too, which is always a draw to me 🙂 I think Farrell was smart to go more for character roles he can age into. Another thing I like about In Bruges is that you can easily see it as a classic noir. Thanks for reading.

    1. I agree, gotta taste all the stuff at the buffet! 😀 And I always say, just because I didn’t like something, I still like to give people ideas: maybe you see something here to try and love it.

Comments are closed.