12 Classics for 2016

blimp

Last year at this time I borrowed an idea from Laura’s Miscellaneous Musings and made a list of 10 Classics to Watch in 2015, which resulted in great discoveries and big gaps filled in my movie education. In 2016 I’ll also be doing this as part of the Blindspot Series hosted by Ryan McNeil of The Matinee.

blindspot16

My main 12 (one a month) came from my endless “to watch” list of Great and new-to-me films. I’m including it below and I’m making it a mission to try to see as many of those as I can this year–wish me luck!

Doing the monthly challenge with Mike’s Take on the Movies introduces me to even more great movies. Since he suggests a lot of westerns and horrors, I haven’t included those on my main list, but I put together a nice mix of eras, genres and countries. Should be a fun film year! 

Enfants.large

My 12 for 2016:

More to watch (link or bold for those seen):

  • Aguirre, the Wrath of God (1972)
  • Apu trilogy
  • Belle de Jour (1967)
  • Broken Lullaby (1932)
  • Diary of a Lost Girl (1929)
  • The Emigrants (1971)
  • Europe ’51 (1952)
  • The Friends of Eddie Coyle (1973)
  • Grey Gardens (1975)
  • Harold and Maude (1971)
  • Harper (1966)
  • Hausu (1977)
  • ‘I Know Where I’m Going!’ (1945)
  • Ikiru (1952)
  • Judex (1916)
  • Jules and Jim (1962)
  • Kind Hearts and Coronets (1949)
  • L’Avventura (1960)
  • L’Eclisse (1962)
  • La Dolce Vita (1960)
  • The Last Laugh (1929)
  • Last Year at Marienbad (1961)
  • Le Jour se Lève (1939)
  • Lonesome (1928)
  • A Man and a Woman (1966)
  • A Man Escaped (1956)
  • Night Moves (1975)
  • The Passion of Joan of Arc (1928)
  • Pépé le Moko (1937)
  • Purple Noon (1960)
  • Rome Open City (1945)
  • Le Samourai (1967)
  • Sansho the Bailiff (1954)
  • The Shanghai Gesture (1941)
  • Shoot the Piano Player (1960)
  • Solaris (1972)
  • Souls for Sale (1923)
  • The Big House (1930)
  • The Crowd (1928)
  • The Wind (1928)
  • Thief (1981)
  • Try and Get Me! aka The Sound of Fury (1950)
  • Underworld (1927)
  • Victim (1961)
  • The Wages of Fear (1953)
  • Wild Strawberries (1957)
  • Will Penny (1967)
  • Z (1969)
41 thoughts on “12 Classics for 2016”

  1. You’ve inspired me to do a 12 Classics for 2016 list as well! I’ve only seen four from your list, so I might pick a couple of those. From your other list, I would highly recommend Stalker, Purple Noon (There’s that Delon thing again!), Judex, A Man Escaped, and definitely Passion of Joan of Arc. Eager to read those posts!

    1. That’s great! Keeping to a list like this is like film school, really eager to dig into these and look forward to seeing your choices. Thanks for the tips on those others, noted. And you’re right, there seems to be a Delon thing going on, so many of his films I want to see so I think I’ll have that little Delon fest very soon, join in!

  2. That’s a great list, Kristina! I just watched The Big Parade myself earlier this year and it was stupendous. Great double feature with Wings, too. 🙂 Stray Dog and Tokyo Story are on my own movie-watching challenge for next year – looking forward to both.

    1. That’s great to hear, looking forward to them, had to put Ozu on there finally, after hearing such great things, and likely to squeeze in more of his as I get interested. I’ll be following your year too, you have an amazing project going. Thanks!

    1. Yes do a list, I still have 2 left on this year’s and I’m glad I did, it was a great way to make sure you try new things, and judging by comments I picked a nice mix this year too. Do one so I can check out a few on your as well 🙂

  3. This is such an amazing list! If you see even half of those 12 you are going to have an incredible year. I would love to see L’atlante or Children of Paradise for the first time again. Magic!

  4. Great list! I need to see most of these, too, and highly recommend Earrings of Madame de (wrote a review on it a few years ago; check it out here if interested– http://bit.ly/1JnoaZI) Have a great holiday season and New Year!

    1. Good, thanks I will read that. Fun way to expand the movie horizons, after watching so many bloggers do this I’m glad I joined in. Season’s greeting to you as well and thanks!

    1. Thanks, fun to hear from someone who’s seen them all–Peeping Tom was my curiosity/controversial pick, I’m wondering about the Psycho comparisons and why it “ended” Michael Powell’s career.

  5. I’ve been enjoying reading reviews on your blog. I look forward to reading your reviews on films I’ve already enjoyed (The Big Parade, Stray Dog, Playtime, Ikiru, Harold and Maude) … and of all the films on your lists 🙂

    Take care.

  6. Hey – we have a selection in common! (Col. Blimp)…AND one of your selections was my selection for November (Madame De…). Great minds and all that.

    I love the cross-section you’ve chosen for 2016 and can’t wait to get your thoughts on the ones I’ve seen.

    1. That’s right, I did look at your review and a lot of the other Blind Spot lists for inspiration, Col. Blimp is one I’ve been meaning to see and after The Red Shoes (off my 2015 list) even more so. Thanks for the invite to this and it’ll be a great year! Cheers

  7. I’ve only seen Stray Dog of that Dozen. The extended list has some gems including a great Kirk Douglas flick and a Mitchum underworld must see. Aguire and Thief are great as well. Will Penny! Heston’s personal favorite is a great western.
    Since you brought up Herzog’s Aguire have you seen Fitzcarraldo? My favorite of his and Kinski’s collaborations.

    1. Well feel free to join in watching any of those so we can compare notes. No I haven’t seen Fitzcarraldo, maybe make that a double feature, thanks for the tip, and you have given me a bunch of good ones in the challenge too!

  8. Just watched Colonel Blimp 2 nights ago and while I’ve seen it twice before there were scenes that seemed fresh. The years that have gone by have altered my impressions of love and war…

  9. Nice choices! I’ve seen nine of the twelve, and they’re all well worth seeing. There are a lot of great films on your longer list too, as well as a lot of films that I still need to watch. I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of them.

    1. Thanks, glad to hear that I picked interesting ones, promises to be a great time watching through these. Looking forward to yours and everyone’s, we’ll all have a fun time with this. Merry Christmas!

  10. Great list there are a couple there I haven’t seen. You are in for some real treats, ‘The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp’ and ‘Bicycle Thieves’ are real favourites of mine. Watched ‘Last Year at Marienbad’ and ‘The Passion of Joan of Arc’ for the first time this year and they are hugely impressive films. I watched ‘Jules et Jim’ for the umpteenth time recently it is a glorious film and another real favourite of mine and ‘Wild Strawberries’ is a real treat and probably my favourite Bergman film. Some great films on your list you are going to be watching some super movies in 2016 . Love these lists people are posting at the moment. Happy Holidays.

    1. Good stuff, kind of a wild variety here but that was the point and the great things about discovering movies and new things to follow up on. I love looking at everyone’s lists too, shows the range of interests. Happy Holidays to you as well! Thanks

  11. Nice lineup of Blind Spots you have planned. I can’t say I loved all the ones of them that I’ve seen but The Big Parade is a wonderful film. I just saw Mr. Hulot’s Holiday this year so I plan on catching up with Playtime soon.

    Of the others that you want to see that didn’t make your shortlist I highly recommend Wild Strawberries and Wages of Fear. Lonely Are the Brave has a beautiful performance by Kirk Douglas, maybe his career best.

    1. Thanks for those tips, I was hoping people would point out some gems from the second list. That Douglas movie I’m really looking forward to, I’ve heard so much good about it. There are a handful more of Kirk’s that I need to get to… so many movies so little time. Will be interesting to see all these.

  12. You have some great films ahead. I’ve watched 7 of your 12 blind spots. The ‘More to watch’ list is interesting too which contains several of my favorite classic films such as Last Year at Marienbad, Ikiru & Wages of Fear. Look forward to your reviews!

    1. I appreciate the suggestions from the longer list, they’re noted. It’s good to do this exercise and expand the horizons, fun project. Thanks for stopping by to comment.

  13. What a great idea! Whenever I make “to-do” lists they always spiral out of control; 12 movies in one year is much more manageable. 🙂 Wish I had read this post before the new year…but there’s always 2017!

    1. Well you can always join in progress and at the very least set yourself a list going forward. It’s a nice way to see what everyone is curious about and discovering. and I’ve made a dent in my longer list too. so far so good! Thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.