Happy New Year!

DSCN1838

2015 was great in Kristinaland.

DSCN1798

I went to the TCM Classic Film Festival (link to those posts). First time in California and at a film fest of any kind, great time meeting many longtime blog friends in person and making new ones. Hope to go again in 2016.  

I co-hosted 4 amazing blogathons, The Great Villain ‘thon, with Ruth and Karen, which won the 2015 CMBA Best Blog Event award! The Beach Party with Ruth, the 1947 event with Karen, and the Criterion Blogathon with Aaron and Ruth. Thanks to all who took part!

I was a guest on the Criterion Close-up podcast to discuss the classic movie blogosphere and to recap the Criterion blogathon. Thanks to hosts Aaron and Mark. Thanks Rupert Pupkin Speaks for posting my 1945 and 1955 lists this year and to Karen for publishing my writing in The Dark Pages, hard to believe I’m into year 11 of noir articles there!

karloffars

Person most seen at the blog in 2015: Boris Karloff, by far. I read through Greg Mank’s book Bela Lugosi and Boris Karloff: The Expanded Story of a Haunting Collaboration, reviewed Mank’s book The Very Witching Time of Night and watched The Black Castle, Devil’s Island, Night Key, The Man Who Changed His Mind, The Old Dark House, The Lost Patrol, The Man They Could Not Hang, Tower of London, The Man with Nine Lives.

rounders1

The monthly Mad Challenge with Mike’s Take on the Movies introduced me to fine films Men in War, Secret of the Incas and The Rounders. At Halloween we did a fun series featuring faves like The Abominable Dr. Phibes, Tremors, and Fright Night. He also recommended Sahara which was more fun than a barrel of camels.

From my list of 10 Classics I discovered High and Low, The Smiling Lieutenant, The Red Shoes, and Ulzana’s Raid. I’ve now seen all 10 and will soon review the last one, Marty. I’ll be casting my net even wider with my 2016 list.

I watched 304 movies this year. Just a few of my favourite discoveries:

Many thanks to everyone who comes by to read, share opinions, add knowledge, question my taste, and suggest new things for me to watch. I really appreciate your time and thoughts on everything, and wish you all a healthy, happy, successful 2016. Time to do it all again 🙂

14 thoughts on “Happy New Year!”

  1. That’s a lot of movies! The TCM fest had to be a highlight. Very happy for you getting out of the house and making the journey. Was nice to share just a bit of your joy and journey personally. Nice to see Bronson made your closing list. Great shot of Boris there. Look forward to more events together this year.
    Well done!

    1. Yes! After not being away on any trips for eons, TCM fest was a huge deal and a welcome break. Hope you get to experience it soon too. Honestly, there were so many movies I liked that I had a hard time making a list, very lucky I saw so much good stuff. Thanks and Happy New Year!!

    1. Thank you! And that’s exactly what I’m doing, I’m no critic or expert, just love watching movies and talking about them 🙂 all the best and Happy New Year!

  2. Congrats on a wonderful 2015 and looking forward to more good stuff from you this year. Of course, I’m especially looking forward to this year’s Great Villain Blogathon. There will be one, right?

    1. Yes! I am totally in for Villains this year, we just have to nail down a date. Wouldn’t miss doing that for anything. Thanks and as I say the best part of this blog thing is chatting movies so may we all enjoy more of that this year. Cheers!

  3. Happy new year, Kristina! I enjoyed reading your recap, and I am so amazed by the number of movies you watched. I’m glad to see that Highway 301 was one of your favorites — thanks to your review, I now have it and am looking so forward to checking it out. I have to watch The Drop soon — I’ve had the Netflix DVD for months, literally — did you read the book? Thanks for being one of the best things about the Dark Pages! 🙂

    1. No I never read the Drop, but that’s a nice slow burn of a movie, with kind of a nice surprise ending. And I love Tom Hardy, he can do no wrong as far as I’m concerned. Hope you like it. You have to see Phoenix. Thanks for having a Dark Pages to be in! It’s such a great thing to be part of. Happy New Year!

  4. Whoa! 304 movies?? Awesome! Sadly, I don’t think I saw half that many, but I do think I ate 304 pieces of chocolate cake this year.

    LOVED that you included the “Edge of Tomorrow” tumblr gif. Such a fun movie, and what a great PR exercise for the Tom Cruise brand.

    Happy Blogging in 2016!

    1. Haha! I admire your chocolate cake tally, something to be proud of! 🙂 I really liked Edge of Tomorrow, speaking of Cruise I’ll be watching the latest Mission Impossible soon. It was so fun doing the blogathons with you this year and can’t wait for the next one, Happy New Year!

  5. Wow, that’s quite a year – Congrats on all the milestones! One day I hope to make it to the TCM festival, but for this year, my big one will Noir City in San Francisco a few weeks from now. Here’s to a great 2016 for you and Speakeasy!

    1. If I wasn’t so far away I would have loved to return or stay for Noir City in LA, it was only a few days after TCMff last year. Someday maybe fest hopping will be possible 🙂 Hope you post all the details so the rest of us can attend vicariously. Have fun! and best to you for the New Year as well.

Comments are closed.