First Look: The Dark Pages’ Latest Issue

ina

Hot off the presses is the very latest issue of the original bi-monthly publication for noir movie fans. As a regular contributor I like to give you a preview of what you’ll find in it.

john

This time it’s another special double-sized issue with the following articles:

  • John Huston, WW2 and The Asphalt Jungle
  • 3 noir ladies: Lady on a Train (1945), The Lady from Shanghai (1948) and Phantom Lady (1944)
  • Beauty and the Beast In a Lonely Place
  • Part 2 in the ongoing examination of Vertigo’s Scottie (Jimmy Stewart)
  • a roundup of 5 unjustly underrated noirs that should be essential
  • test your knowledge of The Postman Always Rings Twice
  • reviews of Elevator to the Gallows and Larceny
  • the usual trivia bits, reader feedback and debate
  • my regular viewing guide to noirs showing on TCM with features on selected stars and titles: this time I focus on a Dirk Bogarde noir and review the various versions of Touch of Evil.

lady

Dark Pages’ creator and editor Karen Hannsberry loads each issue with great reading for any noir fan, so treat yourself to this issue or a subscription–click here to visit The Dark Pages’ site to order paper or e-version.

10 thoughts on “First Look: The Dark Pages’ Latest Issue”

      1. *counts*

        That’s 3, not 5.

        I wouldn’t have thought of Decoy as a neglected noir. They’re all three of them goodies, though.

        1. I like to keep some suspense 🙂 I like Decoy a lot too, I’m always surprised at what pictures people have never heard of.

  1. This sounds like something I need to get into. Thanks, Kristina, for drawing my attention to it so tantalisingly!

Comments are closed.