Announcing the O Canada Blogathon 2017!

O Canada Banner

Time again for the annual event that celebrates Canada’s contributions to film history and pop culture! The O Canada blogathon 2017, to occur FEB 3-5, 2017, will look at the ways Canadian people, subjects and settings have shaped cinema and TV. You can join in with your blog, YouTube channel, podcast, tumblr or whatever you use. Your co-hosts are:

Ruth of Silver Screenings  and Kristina of Speakeasy  

O Canada Banner

Do you need ideas? Read on…

Bios and/or film(s) of anyone from Up North, like:

  • Norma Shearer
  • Mary Pickford
  • Raymond Burr
  • Rod Cameron
  • Jack Carson
  • Hume Cronyn
  • Glenn Ford
  • Yvonne de Carlo
  • Marie Dressler
  • Douglas Dumbrille
  • Deanna Durbin
  • Michael J. Fox
  • Jonathan Frid
  • Ryan Gosling
  • Lorne Greene
  • June Havoc
  • Walter Huston
  • John Ireland
  • Ruby Keeler
  • Margot Kidder
  • Gene Lockhart
  • Raymond Massey
  • Rachel McAdams
  • Leslie Nielsen
  • Walter Pidgeon
  • Christopher Plummer
  • John Qualen
  • Keanu Reeves
  • Ann Rutherford
  • Alexis Smith
  • Jay Silverheels
  • William Shatner
  • Ned Sparks
  • Donald Sutherland
  • Fay Wray
  • more names
  • silent stars, male and female

O Canada Banner

Talent behind the camera:

O Canada Banner

Canadian films/TV series/productions, subjects relating to Canada, anything prominently set or shot here, or adapted from a Canadian writer:

  • I Confess
  • River of No Return
  • Niagara
  • Hudson’s Bay
  • The Devil’s Brigade
  • The Immortal Battalion
  • Corvette K225 (and many other war movies involving Canadian military)
  • Island in the Sky
  • Rose Marie
  • Face Off
  • A Bullet for Joey
  • The Brood
  • The Fly
  • The Changeling
  • The Apprenticeship of Duddy Kravitz
  • Room
  • Life of Pi
  • The English Patient
  • Anne of Green Gables
  • The Handmaid’s Tale
  • Atlantic City
  • Scanners
  • Northwest Trail
  • Owning Mahoney
  • Zero Hour
  • Saskatchewan
  • Northwest Mounted Police (plus MANY more Mountie movies)
  • more films set in Canada

…or anything special and unique to the Canadian movie/TV experience.O Canada Banner

Remember:

  • No duplicate topics please, but if a person is being profiled as a bio you can still cover a specific movie by them
  • we encourage classic movies but certainly won’t exclude modern era or TV series
  • post any day during the blogathon
  • help promote the event via #OCanadaBlogathon

Please check the roster below to see which topics are already taken, and use this signup form (or click here to open this form in a new window) to join in!!

here’s some text to paste into your post:

This post is part of the O Canada Blogathon hosted by Ruth of Silver Screenings and Kristina of Speakeasy.

…and help yourself to any of the lovely banners seen on this page. Thanks for joining us, and see you FEB 3-5, 2017!!!

relive the great 2014 and 2016 events.

O Canada Banner

THE ROSTER:

45 thoughts on “Announcing the O Canada Blogathon 2017!”

  1. Yay!!

    I feel like I had thought of a topic I wanted to write about for this several months ago but can’t remember what it was…

  2. I’ve been so looking forward to this! I thought this year I’d do a film that was a little less obscure….

  3. Okay Kristina, I’m in! I’ve been wanting to write about this topic for a while…thanks for giving me a reason to follow through!

      1. OK, I’ve found something good. This will be a bit more somber than the usual blogathon entry, but certainly relevant. Library and Archives Canada has made available official war films from the First World War, including footage from Canadian and German Military Positions at Vimy Ridge in 1917. It’s a great reminder of the importance of Canadian contribution to that conflict, and to what was on most Canadians’ minds at the time.
        So, put me down for “Canadian Official War Films (First World War)”! https://youtu.be/do2G8XaAZVA

  4. I tried to do this last year, but someone got checked out the first Fly from the library and never returned it, so I had to bow out. They have since replaced it, and if fortune smiles on me I’ll be able to watch all three Fly movies and review them. I also have a book I bought which has the original short story by George Langelaan which means I will be able to add some more intriguing info for it. Will you give me another chance? 🙂

  5. Hi there! Since I’m not sure where else to contact you, I’m going to comment here: you are cordially invited to join the Third Annual Buster Keaton Blogathon, which I’m hosting February 19-21, 2017 on Silent-ology. 2017 will mark 100 years since Buster first entered “moving pictures,” so this is a great opportunity to really celebrate his work (even more so than we already do!). I will also be working with the International Buster Keaton Society to help publicize this event.

    Let me know if you’d like to join in, would love to have you!

    p.s. I’m excited to be covering the very important Florence Lawrence for the 2017 O Canada ‘thon! 🙂

    1. Aren’t they amazing!? Ruth always does a great job on them but these are the best so far 😀 Glad you’re glad and glad you’re joining us again! Cheers and Merry Christmas

  6. So I clicked on the Wiki link above and it listed Captin America as taking place in Canada and would love to write about this movie. If you feel it is more of an American Movie please email and let me know I will be happy to pick something new! Looking forward to this fun blog hop.

        1. Ok, I found a better film the 1973’s The PYX this was the first film Christopher Plummer did in Canada for Canadian producers. I feel better doing this over Captin America

  7. I follow your link from Debra, She Who Seeks. I’m very excited, and plan to enhance my (limited) bookish Canada knowledge by exploring Heather O’Neill’s Lullabies for Little Criminals. Thank you for the chance!

    1. Oh, dear goodness, the shame! Go ahead, laugh at me… I’m giggling rather nervously. I got so excited about joining in that I failed to notice that this is only for movies and such. Do not worry, I’m off to find a non-bookish topic. Be right back. If you can, please delete my Lullabies for Little Criminals topic entry. *sigh*

      1. All right, I’m back with Leonard Cohen’s Democracy (short film/read by Neil Gaiman). I know this piece is rather new, and I can’t say that it has “shaped cinema and TV” or anything at all just yet. But we all need to start somewhere, right? Also, I feel the motif is needed at the moment…

        Still, please let me know if my choice of topic doesn’t satisfy this event’s requirements. Thanks you. 🙂

        1. That sounds just great, thanks for joining us, and I will delete that first one no problem! So nice to see new bloggers at these events and looking forward to your post!

  8. Hi! I just found out about this amazing blogathon, and I am extremely excited! I am very proud to be a Newfoundlander and a Canadian, and I love discussing and learning about all kinds of Canadian film! I just submitted to write about a 1987 film starring Newfoundland icon Gordon Pinsent called “John and the Missus”. I hope that works and thanks!

Comments:

