Announcing The Great Villain Blogathon 2017!

Villains 2017

Time once again to face the evil with the annual Big Bad Blogathon celebrating cinema’s worst villains.

The blogathon is now underway so this will be the event hub. Bookmark and keep coming back as we update with the nightly recaps. When the blogathon is over all the links will be archived here.

Day 1 / Day 2 / Day 3 / Day 4 / Day 5 Wrap-up

Original announcement:

Villains 2017

Just pick a favourite movie villain, whether outlaw, thug, crazed fan, dictator, mistress, monster, slasher, gangster, alien, animated or artificial intelligence; pick any scoundrel to scrutinize, rascal to respect, or evildoer to evaluate, from any era, country and genre of film.

Villains 2017

Your Hosts for The Great Villain Blogathon 2017: Ruth of Silver Screenings, Karen of Shadows & Satin and Kristina of Speakeasy.

Villains 2017

The Date: April 25-29, 2017, you may post any day you like.

No duplicate topics please! There are tons of movie villains, so please check the roster further down on this page before you sign up with the handy form provided. Villains covered in previous years are fair game.

Villains 2017

Grab one of the awesome banners featured on this page (thanks Ruth for those!), paste it on your blog, and tweet/promo the event with #Villains2017

Thanks for joining us! 

Hard to believe this is our 4th year! If you’re curious about the previous ones, check out Villains blogathons 2014, 2015, 2016.

Villains 2017

The roster: (click here to open form in new window)

34 thoughts on “Announcing The Great Villain Blogathon 2017!”

      1. Hi, Would it be okay if I substituted Patrick McGoohan in Silver Streak and Braveheart for my original choice? Just saw Silver Streak again, and was reminded how menacing he could be! 🙂

  1. Last year I went for the more humorous pick. I think I’ll take a more serious tack this year. To wit, I chose…

    KHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1. BTW, that’s Ricardo Montalban’s portrayal. Someone else can take Benedict Cumberbatch’s variation if they want.

  2. Another one, if I may? Christine, the evil car from John Carpenter’s version of the Stephen King novel. (Note: I may fill up the whole weekend at this rate…)

  3. One more, but that’s it. I think 3 is all I can handle in a week. But I just re-watched Westworld. Yul Brynner as the Robot Gunslinger makes an almost perfect choice for a villain, dontcha think? So here is my schedule that I will commit myself to follow through:

    April 25: The Robot Gunslinger in “Westworld”
    April 27: “Christine”
    April 29: “The Wrath of Khaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnn!!!!”

  4. I’ve just returned to blogging after taking a long hiatus due to the passing of my aunty on New Years Eve. I just seen this blogathon announcement, and will definitely join, as its one of my favorite blogathons. I’m just mulling over a few villains.

    On my return, I’ve announced another blogathon, and you are cordially invited to participate. The link is below with more details.

    https://crystalkalyana.wordpress.com/2017/03/02/announcing-the-judy-garland-blogathon/

    1. Sorry to hear that, nice to see you interested in joining, should be a lot of fun. Thanks for the news and I’ll check that out for sure. Thanks!

  5. Hi. Please count me in. I’m going to bring along a cold sexually repressed blonde: Constance Ford in “A Summer Place.” Thanks!

      1. Thanks – be great to join this blogathon, your last Villains blogathon was my first blogathon and been hooked on blogathons ever since! So big thanks to the 3 of you xx

Comments are closed.