Announcing the Food in Film Blogathon

The honor of your presence is requested at The Food in Film Blogathon,

November 3-5, 2017,

for a multi-course, piquant, lickerous and decadent potluck celebration of food in the movies.

Bring to the table your take on movie chefs or wannabes, big events at eateries, memorable meals or messes, greasy spoons, comfort foods, brands or products, culinary cameos, even unconventional or downright disgusting recipes.

Your hosts are Silver Screenings and Speakeasy.

RSVP for this feast by signing up via the form provided below. ย 

No duplicate topics please! Check the menu roster a little further down this page before you sign up, to see if your dishย is already being served by someone else. ย 

Help yourself to any of the awesome banners featured on this page (thanks Ruth for those!), paste it on your blog, and tweet/promo the event with #FoodinFilm.

Thanks for joining us! Now get cooking…

Sign up here ( or click here to open this form in a new window)

The roster so far… (you canย click here to open list in a new window)

44 thoughts on “Announcing the Food in Film Blogathon”

  1. I agree — great banners, and great blogathon idea! I know this is a bit of a stretch, but could I critique the “Mr. Creosote” sketch and other food-related tidbits from “Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life”?

      1. Hey Kristina. This isnโ€™t a movie, but it deals with cooking. Would I be able to write about Audrey Hepburnโ€™s cook book? Iโ€™ve made a few of the recipes in the book, and the Penne Alla Vodka is one of the best things Iโ€™ve tasted. Please, let me know if this subject is okay?

        1. Yes I think that’s interesting! and it’s classic star-related… I hope you’ll make the dish and share some great photos, that recipe sounds really good ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hello!
    Amazing idea for a blogathon! Could I do Hitchcock’s Rope (1948)? (The food is placed on the chest where the body is)

    Carol, The Old Hollywood Garden

  3. Hey, had an idea for a post but are you accepting entries on TV moments surrounding food – was thinking of Dallas, the Ewings family dinners and of course those barbecues.. would this apply for the blogathon?

  4. This is a swell topic for a blogathon. I just signed up with the automatic form. I know I will enjoy participating in this.

    By the way, I would like to invite you to join my blogathon, “The Great Breening Blogathon:” https://pureentertainmentpreservationsociety.wordpress.com/2017/09/07/extra-the-great-breening-blogathon/. It is celebrating the life and work of Joseph Breen, the enforcer of the Motion Picture Production Code between 1934 and 1954. As we honor his birthday, which is on October 14, we will be discussing and analyzing the Code era, breening films from other eras, and writing about our own ideas for classic movies. One doesn’t have to agree with the Code and Mr. Breen to enjoy that! I hope you will do me the honor of joining. We could really use your talent!

    Yours Hopefully,

    Tiffany Brannan

  5. I know what you’re going to be thinking. Who else but me would take it in this direction…? I’m choosing “Eating Raoul” (1982) and “Delicatessen” (1991). Two funny black comedies about a special kind of food.

      1. What I wouldn’t have given for a banner featuring Meryl Streep as “Julia Child”… Having the matron of haute cuisine at the head of that post just appeals to my sick mind… ๐Ÿ˜€ PS, hope someone will pick “Julie and Julia” as a post.

  6. Great idea for a blogathon. I thought about it, and I think I would like to do “Facing Windows” (2003). I know that food there is not the main topic, but, in my review, I also will be writing about the protagonists’ passion for cooking and how food scenes/their passion for cooking ties up to the story. So, I hope it is ok.

  7. Hello – great topic for a blog! I would like to do “The Cook, the Thief, His Wife, and Her Lover” (Peter Greenaway). Thanks!

  8. Could I possibly switch my first topic from Chungking Express to Adua and Her Friends? I’ll still be writing a second post about The Bakery Girl of Monceau. Thanks!

Comments:

